Ursula von der Leyen presents her new team

posted in: EU news

image name

President Ursula von der Leyen unveiled the composition of her college on 10 September. The Belgian Didier Reynders inherits the position of Commissioner for Justice, which includes many areas of competence of direct interest to the European notariat (consumer protection, civil justice, etc.). Didier Reynders comes from the Belgian liberal family (Mouvement Réformateur). He has served as Minister of Finance (1999-2004 and 2007-2011), Foreign Affairs (2011-2018) and Defence (since the end of 2018).

Continuing Jean-Claude Juncker’s efforts, Ursula von der Leyen has created Vice-President positions to supervise several Commissioners. Specifically, Věra Jourová becomes Vice-President of the European Commission, responsible for Values and Transparency. During the last legislature, Věra Jourová was in charge of the Justice portfolio. This area will therefore remain under her supervision.

Considering the many texts discussed, adopted and implemented in recent years – such as the regulations on international successions, matrimonial property regimes, registered partnerships, the circulation of public documents, as well as the important dossier on the digitalisation of the lifecycle of companies – the European notariat congratulates the Czech Commissioner on her new functions, which are akin to a change in continuity. The relationship has always been constructive and the CNUE looks forward to further collaboration. The CNUE is also at the disposal of the new Commissioner for Justice, Didier Reynders, to work on the future priorities of his mandate.   

It should be noted that Ursula von der Leyen also creates the positions of Executive Vice Presidents. There are three of them: Margrethe Vestager for digital policy, Frans Timmermans for the “Green New Deal”, and Valdis Dombrovskis for economic and social matters. These three Vice-Presidents will retain direct responsibility for a Commission Directorate-General - in addition to their new position.

The mission letters, which detail the competences of each Commissioner, are available online: https://ec.europa.eu/commission/interim/commissioners-designate

They are accompanied by an organisation chart specifying the adjustments made between the various Directorates-General: https://ec.europa.eu/commission/sites/beta-political/files/allocation-portfolios-supporting-services_en.pdf

The new executive will take office on 1 November 2019, once the European Parliament has heard and approved (or not) the nominees.