About Notaries of Europe

About Notaries of Europe

Notaries are public office holders and part of the legal order in the 22 EU Member States based on Latin civil law. Their essential mission is to confer authenticity on the legal instruments and contracts they establish for their clients in areas of law as diverse as marriage contracts, company statutes, wills, real estate transactions, etc.

The Notaries of Europe are firmly committed to the construction of a legal Europe. The Council of the Notariats of the European Union (CNUE) is the official body representing the notarial profession in dealings with the European institutions. Speaking for the profession, it negotiates and makes decisions for the European Union’s notariats.

The CNUE represents the notariats of all EU Member States familiar with this institution: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. The Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey have observing member status.

The European notariats are represented in the CNUE by the presidents of the national notarial bodies. The CNUE is supervised by a President, the CNUE’s spokesperson, who has tenure for one year, renewable for one year.

The CNUE was set up in 1993 when the Single Market became a reality. It has a permanent office situated in the heart of Europe, in Brussels. Since 2003, the CNUE has taken the form of an ASBL (Association sans but lucratif - non-profit organisation) under Belgian law. Originally called the ‘Conference of the Notariats of the EU’, the CNUE became the ‘Council of the Notariats of the EU’ on 1 January 2006.


The CNUE's mission is to promote the notariat and its active contribution to any decision-making processes of the European institutions. This involves areas including the legal aspects of citizenship and running a business, access to justice and consumer protection.

To this end, the CNUE set up working groups to follow EU affairs and establish position papers committing all of the CNUE's member notariats. These working groups are composed of experts designated by the member notariats and are chaired by a representative of one of the member notariats. The CNUE is thus present in all political and technical matters that have an impact on the notarial profession.

Furthermore, the CNUE keeps its members updated on developments in European legislation and any initiatives taken by the EU institutions. It also assists in the continuous training of notaries in EC law.

The CNUE does not, however, limit itself only to following EU work; it also makes proposals. It implements projects with a European dimension involving all its members, with the aim of constructing the area of justice, freedom and security expected by European citizens. These positive initiatives, which often rely on new technologies, make life easier for citizens, whose mobility can be hindered by cross-border legal complications.

CNUE Key Facts

  • Founded in: 1993
  • Based in: Brussels
  • Members: 22 + 4 Observer Members
  • President: Mr Ádám Tóth
  • Notaries: 45 000



Full members

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain

Observer members

Republic of North Macedonia , Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey